Incabloc lyre spring replacement for Unitas 6498 Clone

louisg

Hey all,

Completely new beginner here, going through Mark's video course with a Unitas 6498 clone off ebay.  I did search for this but didn't find it; so apologies if this has been asked already on the forum.

I managed to dislodge the upper (? watchmaker side) incablock spring.  I tried to get it back in, but it pinged into the ether on me.  Not expecting the watch spirits to apport a replacement anytime soon, I ordered one and also some practice ones.

My question is, for the Chinese 6498 clone, does the incabloc spring insert on the outside or the inside of the setting?  I kept trying to get it into the outside of the setting which probably resulted in frustration and me squeezing the tweezers too tight and launching it.  But then I watched a video from another thread that showed a KIF spring and it was inserted via the inside of the setting, so I was thinking maybe I was trying the wrong thing the whole time.

I had read that disassembling was not required to put the spring in a Chinese clone, so please advise if I misunderstood.  I also read about using some plastic wrap to avoid pinging the spring away, and I will definitely do this in the future for my practice ones when they come.

Thanks for the help!

1 hour ago, louisg said:

I managed to dislodge the upper (? watchmaker side) incablock spring.  

Do you mean cock side shock spring?  

To stand on the safe side, I seperate the balance complete then lay the cock on an anvik to get the spring installed using one prong of fine tweezers. so if tweezer slips then,  sensative balance/ hairspring  is not underneath it to get damaged, hardly any part can gets damaged. Remove the regulator arm as well.

Detaching and safe removal/ reinstallation of balance complete is a must to master task. 

Trying to instal a shock spring with balance complete underneath it is RRRisky.

• Like 1