New Member from Poconos PA

PoconoFox

Hi all, thanks for allowing me in your group.

Complete novice here, although recently retired and always interested in horology. Just purchased 3 vintage watches inexpensively through Ebay. One is working, 2nd I'm returning and the 3rd I'd like to attempt replacing the  movement of of a Timex Marlin (2010 2469). I've watched some video and believe I should be able to accomplish. My question is where do you source your movements from? Ebay did not seem to have any listings for what I'm looking for, and Esslinger seems to be a bit expensive for a Timex mechanical watch movement. Have to admit I've yet to remove the watch movement, as I'm not sure if I want to invest in some basic watch tools, ie hand puller etcetera if I am going to have difficulty obtaining movements at reasonable pricing. I did remove the crystal, so that's a plus, lol. Is it the case that the movements are hard to obtain and therefor being replaced with compatible quartz movements? Thanks for your help! 

Thank you for your introduction and welcome to this friendly forum.

Timex watch movements are nothing like other watch movements, it's not a good place to start. I always recommend to start with pocket watch movements (not fusse movements) they are are bigger and the lay out and working are on a much bigger scale. Practice just taking taking apart and putting together. It give you good practise on using your watchmakers screwdrivers correctly using your tweezers correctly and using your eyeglass. 

This might help.    

1033305402_TZIllustratedGlossary(1).pdf

• Like 1