Help with lubricants for a beginner

Hello,

I am a beginner in watchmaking hobby, so far I was able to clean, oil and regulate few watches (old swiss hand winding and automatic movements from eBay as well as one old pocket watch). I clean watches with the lighter fluid (soak them around 15 minutes in small glass cans, clean them with cotton sticks and let them dry). I actually learned a lot working with these cheap junk movements.

Along with reassembly, I oil the parts of the movement. My theoretical knowledge of lubrication is still very limited, so in the meanwhile, I learned just how to apply oil with oiler, how to clean oiler etc. The first oil that I bought is Dr. Tillwich Type 1-3. I bought it because it was cheaper than the rest of oil brands, the description said "it can be used for wristwatches", it is widely available in Germany where I live, and I wanted to have some oil until I am able to work with more types of them. The datasheet is available here http://www.dr-tillwich.com/Prospekte/drtillwich_engl/PDF-en/tk2213ea.pdf On this forum, I found the following table: https://www.watchrepairtalk.com/uploads/monthly_2016_05/574c8150a5bcd_viscositychartoilswatches.gif.8f1d25c5bef8b12457bacd0f8c71c2f4.gif

According to the table, the oil that I have should be equivalent of Möbious 9000 (100 at 20 degrees), which is oil used in quartz watches. I have no interest in working with quartz movements though. Are there any other uses for this oil?

Since I am a hobbyist, the price plays a very important factor. As I understood correctly, I should have at least 4 types of lubricants: grease for keyless work, oil for the train, oil for escapement and oil for pallet jewels. Are there any alternatives for expensive professional oils? It seems a little bit odd to buy an old movement to service for 20 bucks, and then buy oil for another 40. Of course, it will last long, but it is anyway expensive.

Thanks.

1 hour ago, bojan1990 said: