I need help troubleshooting a balance complete.

I replaced the balance staff, because the top pivot of the original was broken. This is my first attempt at doing this. Now the watch won't run. The balance oscillates for a few ticks but then stops.

When i replaced the roller table, although i tried, i did not get the impulse jewel aligned with the mark for the original position (see picture below).

Is this enough to cause the balance not to oscillate? Or what ramifications might it have?

Thank you for your help!

E1A47732-389B-4A08-BE31-6B1AF7676377_1_201_a.jpeg

Pull the roller table and put it back where it should be. The position of the hairspring is (very) important too, there is often a little "pip" on the balance rim marking where the stud should line up. When in the watch, no power, the roller jewel should be in the fork slot, and the fork should be midway between the bankings.

• Like 6

1 hour ago, signcarver said:

Is this enough to cause the balance not to oscillate? Or what ramifications might it have?

the ramifications of putting the roller jewel in the wrong location is the watch will not be in beat and it will never run.

1 hour ago, nickelsilver said:

When in the watch, no power, the roller jewel should be in the fork slot, and the fork should be midway between the bankings.

one of things you should always check on a watch especially after replacing the balance staff is to verify that the watch visually is in beat. The above quote is telling you that and I'm attaching a picture so you can visually see what it should look like.

image.png.a7647e46bc8e1bfe4175ea6704bdca4c.png

• Like 4
  • Thanks 2

From the picture the stud holder is mobile, it alao is a beat adjustor arm, move it to bring the oscilator in-beat, thats impulse be in midpoint of ........ as said above.

In case that didn't do, then impulse jewel must have been positioned  nowhere close to in- beat position, so needs repositioning. 

• Like 1

Something to add: