Copy Stand For Macro Photography

WillFly

Having equipped myself with a couple of Canon 70D bodies and lenses, I tested out using my old Pentax Super Takumar 52mm lens with x1, x2 & 3x converter rings for macro photography of watch faces and movements. The lens, plus x2 converter, seems very good indeed, but the problem has been finding the right height for accurate focussing as the tolerance is quite tight.

Anyway, I spotted a £44 copy stand on eBay the other day and bought it (brand new) from a computer/electronics firm in Kent. It came this morning and, for the price, is very good, robust and well made. Picture enclosed. Watch pics to follow!

post-64-0-48063200-1449662320_thumb.jpg

• Like 3

That is what i should need. I am a bad photographer. Have a nice watch but can't really use all the function. That is why i don't take any pictures when i service something. But with that i can have the camera focused on the object and maybe even a nice lamp on the stand.

Just a quick post on some preliminary results. Picture 1 is of the face of my Elgin "Father Time" RR pocket watch - 52mm Super Takumar lens with a x2 converter ring. This was done hastily and the focus isn't quite sharp - my fault, not the lens!

Picture 2 is part of the movement - Super Takumar 52mm lens with x3 converter. Shot in raw and processed with LightRoom.

post-64-0-37037700-1449668767_thumb.jpg

post-64-0-12465600-1449668784_thumb.jpg

• Like 2

Thanks Bob - always good to get feedback. One of the problems of focus with a manual lens is that the viewfinder view isn't always possible. So I'm using the "screen view" - i.e. the touch sensitive screen on the Canon which folds round to act as a monitor. And because the lens is manual, the autofocus doesn't function, meaning that the focus ring has to be adjusted quite delicately and accurately.