Hamilton Crystal Question

les13

I am a newbie. This is my first attempt at refurbishing a watch. I have finished Mark’s level 1 and 2 classes. Level 3 may answer some of my questions, but I have not started it yet.

See photos of the watch in question. A Hamilton front loader. Crystal measures 30.14 mm and case is 33.14 mm. I see lots of round crystals for Hamilton watches, but I am assuming there is a special designation for crystals for front loading watches. What should I be looking for?

Thanks in advance.

e91e28ce488d5ac6efc64640cd59591f.jpg

ebcad1f246462616bc7fe8313d2f4996.jpg

7a595b5ee365f6eab079097f5c634c0d.jpg

ea0894a0985abd27d44db1d79441b7db.jpg

9 hours ago, les13 said:

I am assuming there is a special designation for crystals for front loading watches. What should I be looking for?

There is not. Acrylic crystal of the right dia, height and profile on the lip that fits is. You may also need a tool to install it, personally I suggest a plier type over a claws one.

Normally cases that require special crystals have a reference number. There appears to be a serial number but no case number? I don't suppose there's any marking on the back side of the case?

Nothing helpful on the back. Well, there is an inscription dated 1965. That is helpful I guess.

bf82896e807d57a275704b802f8d0dd1.jpg
07230fd3c026c890bf8c7df7c7f7c67c.jpg
3d90d39cf33e55e4f50e9efa277f5212.jpg

After much reading, I have found similar Hamilton watches from the 1960s use a GS PA467-6 or -14. These appear too large - 31.11 mm vs my measurement of 30.80. However, my crystal was loose enough that I popped it out with my thumbnail. If The new crystal does not fit my case, I will at least have something to compare against.

I have a link below that has the GS catalog. Scroll down to page 100 and you get into the PA section if it is a specific crystal it should be found there someplace.Then on page 116 it shows the shapes of their generic crystals basically your Crystal may be a PHD.