I’m new to watchmaking and have been working with an ST36 movement. Yesterday I disassembled the movement and cleaned it in an ultrasonic cleaner. Not wanting to use solvents in my house, I put 3 jars in the cleaner - the first contained Dawn dishwashing soap in water, the next 2 just water. I left the components in each jar for 5 minutes, then on to the next for another 5 minutes. Finally I soaked them in 99.9% IPA for another 5 minutes before laying them on a lint free towel and drying them I. A warm oven for about ten minutes. 

Most of the parts look great now, but some of the screws and the pivots on the train wheels had some rust on them. Does anyone have any advice on how to avoid this (aside from the obvious of using non water based solvents next time)?  Also, is it okay to soak the components in CLR to remove the rust spots?

Thanks for your help, and happy to be here. 

Well, You are inventing You own cleaning technique. That is good, but don't ask the others what is wrong with it, as You are the inventor.

Now You have only surface rust developed to the parts. It can stil be removed from the pinions teeth by sharp wooden stick and polishing compaund (use oil solvable one and clean by brushing with pure petrol after).

All professional cleaning solutions are water based. The parts doesn't develop rust in the solution, but in water used for rinsing. No one rinses for 5 min, this is silly. Then imedatelly in pure alkohol to rinse the water, then blow with air and dry with hair dryer. Using oven for drying is silly too.

• Like 1

The concoctions members use on here in order to clean their watch movements. I’m sorry if this sounds harsh, you only have yourself to blame. Use the proper cleaners and rinse that is what they are manufactured for. Read about them see what the pros say.  Watch parts are very fragile, you can’t just plonk them in any solution.

• Like 5

14 hours ago, MarkF said: