Is something missing?

Hi

I am a newbie that is trying to get a 1260 movement going and although it seems to work face up it stops face down. Can someone tell me if there an escape upper jewel cap missing from the photo or doesn’t this movement have one?

IMG_3507.jpeg

• Like 1

1 minute ago, Burruz said:

Hi

I am a newbie that is trying to get a 1260 movement going and although it seems to work face up it stops face down. Can someone tell me if there an escape upper jewel cap missing from the photo or doesn’t this movement have one?

IMG_3507.jpeg

Sorry this isn’t the exact movement I am working on but does seem to be missing the same part. 

7 minutes ago, RichardHarris123 said:

It is missing, the arrow points to the screw hole, it should have a  plate with the cap jewel in it , like the one below the arrow.  

Thankyou Richard. I was thinking the same but I cannot find a picture with this piece fitted or a part number. I even bough a donor movement and that didn't have it either! It did have the upper balance jewel plate (as in my picture) could I use that?

The shape of the jewel hole would determine if the hole was designed to have a cap jewel or not.

If the jewel hole is convex on the side facing the supposed cap jewel, then there should be a cap jewel. But if the jewel hole has an oil sink instead, then it means that the manufacturer decided to leave out the cap jewel in the final production.

• Like 5

24 minutes ago, HectorLooi said:

The shape of the jewel hole would determine if the hole was designed to have a cap jewel or not.

If the jewel hole is convex on the side facing the supposed cap jewel, then there should be a cap jewel. But if the jewel hole has an oil sink instead, then it means that the manufacturer decided to leave out the cap jewel in the final production.

Thanks Hector. That makes sense I will check and let you know. It does seem strange to have that machine detail and not use it. 

15 minutes ago, RichardHarris123 said: