Hello From West Virginia!

I'm really thankful to have come across this site and Mark Lovick's great videos.  For someone trying to learn the craft here in a log cabin in West Virginny, they've been a godsend.  Aren't too many watchmakers in my neck of the woods.

I've been studying watchmaking at home for about a year now.  I've also been taking classes at NAWCC's School of Horology in Columbia, PA but the school no longer has a degree program; so, I have to take them as they are available.  They are a great experience and I've learned a lot but it's slow going.

I've set up the beginnings of a shop in my basement using my great-grandmother's vanity, mounted on blocks, as a workbench.  I'm still "tooling up"; looking for things I can afford on a limited budget.

I've attached a picture of the watch I'm wearing now.  It's an Accutron automatic.  Didn't know Accutron made mechanical watches (I got an original Accutron tuning fork watch when I graduated from high school in the 1960's) but one day I chanced by it at a jewelry store near my office.  I liked square case and the dial and since it was a clearance item I got it for a very good price, so I bought it.  I can't afford really high-end watches unless I can get a good deal on one that needs restoration which I can do myself. 

So that's my goal: to develop the ability to someday take a good watch that's not working and make it work.  I particularly love Omega watches.  In the meantime I have had a few successes with cheaper watches but I'm still breaking more than I fix!  Given that I'm "old" my greatest difficulty is steadying my hands but I've improved at that by putting in a lot of "tweezer time".

post-940-0-56097200-1429712763_thumb.jpg

Hi Douglas,