I am very new to watch repair and am just getting comfortable with oiling the incablocs in an ST36 movement. Couple of quick questions though. 

1) Apparently the top jewel has a flat side and a domed side, but even after staring at it under a 15X loupe I am really just guessing which side is which. Is there some sort of trick for determining g which is the flat side?  And if I accidentally oil the domed side and place the cap over it, does it really make a difference?  

2) Sometimes while holding the jewel with my tweezers and oiling it, the jewel either sticks to the oiler or to the tweezers. Is this common or am I doing something wrong?

1 hour ago, MarkF said:

Is there some sort of trick for determining g which is the flat side?

Look at it under a light, move it about and watch the reflection. The flat side will reflect a uniform flash of brightness as the light glints off it, the domed side won't.

1 hour ago, MarkF said:

if I accidentally oil the domed side and place the cap over it, does it really make a difference?

If you accidentally install the cap jewel upside down then you can effectively reduce the end shake on the balance staff, which could result in loss of amplitude and cause timing issues.

1 hour ago, MarkF said:

the jewel either sticks to the oiler or to the tweezers

This suggests that you might be applying too much oil. Either that or you may need to improve your tweezer technique. It should be possible to apply the oil whilst holding the jewel with your tweezers, which you have to do to stop the oiler picking the jewel up. The oil shouldn't go all the way to the edge of the jewel, which means that it shouldn't come into contact with the tweezers.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, MarkF said:

2) Sometimes while holding the jewel with my tweezers and oiling it, the jewel either sticks to the oiler or to the tweezers. Is this common or am I doing something wrong?