Replacing clock mainspring

I just watched this video on YouTube. Scottie just bashed the spring into the barrel without cutting off the wire retainer, pre-oiling the mainspring and winding it into containment ring.

Is this an acceptable technique? One can't even be sure that the hole end of the new mainspring is properly engaged with the barrel hook.

• Haha 3

This is my reply to this clown.

What a bloody shambles. Use the proper tool a clock mainspring winder. You should always measure the inside of the barrel for the correct height because the spring to be replaced might not be the correct one Why don't you use a bigger hammer you clown. You never cleaned the new spring or oiled it, no oil on the ends of the arbor. I have watched many of your videos and find faults with all. People what ever you do never ever follow what this fool shows you. He is a complete menace to clock makers. I have around 30 years experience working on high grade clocks. I wouldn't let him inside my workshop. I look forward to your reply, that's if you have to guts to do so.

• Like 3
  • Haha 2

12 minutes ago, oldhippy said:

clown.

Doing my usual checking of unread conversations the word clown caught my eye.

7 hours ago, HectorLooi said:

Scottie just bashed the spring into the barrel without cutting off the wire retainer, pre-oiling the mainspring and winding it into containment ring.

It would really nice when you're pointing out what people are doing if you could give us an actual time of the amusement so I don't have the watch the entire video as I really don't like watching clock or watch repair videos for that matter.

Oh and then the video I didn't see how he got the old spring out? Probably really don't want to ask that question do I

20 minutes ago, oldhippy said:

Why don't you use a bigger hammer you clown.

Is this an acceptable technique? One can't even be sure that the hole end of the new mainspring is properly engaged with the barrel hook.