Vintage pocket watch repair

Hi everyone

I have a gold pocket watch that belonged to my grandfather. It's about 100 years old and stopped working about 10 years ago. I took it to a local watchmaker and after he'd had it for several weeks he said it would cost £400 to investigate and repair.

Well I'm not paying that and although I doubt it's something I can do myself I thought I would have an initial look at it. I have many years of experience building and repairing miniature electronic assemblies and I have a good set of tools and a digital magnifier. A friend lent me an old copy of "Practical Watch Repairing" by Donald de Carle which is very helpful.

I removed the plate covering the back of the movement and the first thing I'm trying to do is let down the mainspring, which is fully wound, but I can't see how to do it. The barrel has a hole in it but I can't see how this helps. Pictures attached.

So my first question for the forum is - how do I do it?

Thanks!

Mike

movement.jpg

mainspring.JPG

Hello and welcome. 

I wish you had asked for advice before starting, the movement wanted removing from the case before removing the plate. I can't see the click, it should be visible once the movement is removed.  If you open the other side of the case, the movement should come out.  Send more pictures then.  You have chosen a difficult movement to start on as it is a full plate. 

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1