Omega 610 Movement gets stuck during date change, yet the watch keeps ticking

kaan

I just disassembled, cleaned and re-assembled this watch, previously it wasn't working, and after this procedure, it was working pretty well, no apparent damage to anything to my amateur eye

It has been mysteriously losing ~25-40 minutes a day and I finally found out how, just around 11:10 - the hour/minute hands stop moving yet the watch keeps ticking

It should be a sign of something obvious, what is it? 🙂

IMG_0419.jpg

I'm completely new to this but I would:

1. See if running the watch past the point where the date changes WITHOUT the date mechanism engaged also lost time.
  2. Inspect the cannon pinion.

When you say the watch keeps ticking, I assume you mean that the escapement is behaving as it should? During the period when the date is changing what does the Timegrapher say?

I would take a hard look at the date mechanism.

• Like 1

7 hours ago, kaan said:

Time grapher reading seems healthy at any point I set to, even when stuck

It's not going to change a lot on the timing machine but your lift angle is wrong. Instead of 52° it's supposed to be 49°. Then 214° amplitude for a freshly serviced watch wound up seems a little on the low side?

Then that's an interesting way to hold the watch? Doesn't seem to be hurting anything but you want to be careful of insulating the watch from the microphone sometimes you might get bad readings. Then ideally the crown should be facing out word it will pick up a better signal that way when the Watch is cased up.