Pocket watch - New main spring needed

Hello folks. I'm having great time. Watch repair is great fun. Although I'm not in the zone for repair, at present I seem to be destroying everything.  

I need a main spring for the movement of a pocket watch. Can anyone tell how I can tell what spring I need. I am a basic novice.  I don't mind criticism as long as it is constructive. I have dissembled the movement. The main spring kept winding but not tightening. Opening is as seen. New one needed.

Regards

Ross

20220422_194426.jpg

20220422_194452.jpg

20211203_231839.jpg

Edited by rossjackson01
grammar

I was able to find the exact part number for my Elgin grade 313 by going to: pocketwatchdatabase.com however I know the model and serial number of my movement.

As @praezis says, you might not need a new spring. Does the arbor engage with the end of the spring?

Optionally, if you know the height of the spring, the thickness of the spring and the length of the spring you can go to:

https://www.cousinsuk.com/category/filter/mainsprings-by-size-watch-pocket

and by matching the end hole patterns they will make an effort to suggest a spring.

Let us know how it turns out.

• Thanks 1

Replacing a pocket watch mainspring is the same as a wristwatch mainspring. If you can identify who made the watch you can look up and see what supposed to be used. Otherwise you just measure the dimensions and find another spring.

The only complications you run into typically with pocket watch springs are specific types of ends. Like T type  and there's a variety of other ones very common on American pocket watches.