Balance jewels for Vostok 2209

Hi,

I am currently servicing a Vostok 2209 movement and upon inspecting the parts, I found one of the balance cap jewels is cracked, the brass part. I attached a photo for reference. Is there anywhere I can purchase a replacement jewel? I tried CousinsUK but either I don't know how to search for them or they don't have them. I am very new to this, having just started to service watch movements as a hobby, so I appreciate your help.

Thank you,

IMG_2569.JPG

1 hour ago, utzelu said:

I found one of the balance cap jewels is cracked, the brass part.

That is not a cap jewel, is an hole jewel. The brass part is so sometime called chaton. It is not said that being cracked influences good working, so you should test it before assuming that's a problem.

1 hour ago, utzelu said:

Is there anywhere I can purchase a replacement jewel?

There is no secret place for parts, have a read

48 minutes ago, jdm said:

That is not a cap jewel, is an hole jewel. The brass part is so sometime called chaton. It is not said that being cracked influences good working, so you should test it before assuming that's a problem.

Thanks for clarifying the nomenclature. You are right in that the jewel itself is in good condition and the crack in the chaton may not affect the performance. I will reuse it for now.

As for places to buy parts, I read the whole thread you recommended and to summarize, there are not many options for us hobbyists. For me is mainly Cousins UK, or eBay. The other online sites mentioned there are selling exclusively to businesses. As I live on a relatively small island in the Mediterranean Sea, I don’t have any choice to find parts around, hence the online route.

This being said, I suppose the hole jewels are relative generic parts. Are they sold by size, model, or other way? How would I go about searching for such hole jewels?

thanks

10 hours ago, utzelu said:

For me is mainly Cousins UK, or eBay.