NH35 Hairspring problem

Manxcat

I am new to watch repair, I apologize for getting any details wrong.

I bought an Invicta off eBay advertised as not working that has a NH35A in it.  The symptom was that you could wind all day and it would never start ticking or become wound at all.  I assumed there was a barrel/arbor/mainspring problem and pulled that out.  The mainspring was not engaged with the arbor...but there was no reason...I twisted the arbor and it garbed the spring just fine.  I got to thinking there may be a problem in the train so I was going to pull the balance and the pallet level and when I pulled the balance bridge, the balance wheel stayed in the watch...have not seen that before.

I got out my staking tool which I am not well practiced with, removed the hairspring from the balance bridge, got it restaked on the balance shaft, when to get it mounted to the balance bridge again, and it fell off the balance shaft.  There does not seem to be an adjustment cut in this spring collet.  I know you cant put anything on there (such as glue or thread lock) because it needs to be adjustable, but there is no tension to the shaft.

Any idea why it would just fall off?  I dont think anyone else messed with this previously...but that is a possibility too...it is from eBay.

you took out the balance cock and you just pulled out the HS from the balance? Weird! I suppose it was messed with before.

You could try tightening the collet, using your staking tool, but most likely there is another problem in there...

my 2 cents: get a new balance complete from ebay  - you should be able to find one for NH35

7 hours ago, Manxcat said:

There does not seem to be an adjustment cut in this spring collet.  I know you cant put anything on there (such as glue or thread lock) because it needs to be adjustable, 

If there is no adjustment cut in the collet, then it wasn't build to be adjustable.