Hello from good old Germany

UhrTobi

Hello,

I'm just a beginner, too, and I'm verry interested in mechanical watches at all. I'm a physicist and engineer and work in a university of applied sciences in germany. 

Because I get a new watch from "Mühle Glashütte", there is a high motivation for me to do the service by my self. So obviously there will be  5 years time (following the manual) to learn how to do that until the first service will be necessary (please excuse my poor englisch - it's not my highest qualification 😉). I will did my first practice on a Seiko watch with a 7S26C movement. And I dissassembled it following the youtube videos, clean it and put it together again two times, and it's still alive 😀.  But it has some problems I'm not able to solve - I will post in a an other threat. I do al lot of 3D-printing, so I developed a couple of tools such as a movement holder, a wheel centerer and a hand placer by my self and produce it by my 3D-printer - and all works fine 😄

Thats all from me for this time and I'm verry glad to be here.

Many thanks and best regards from good old Germany

Tobi

• Like 1

Welcome.

I like the sound of the 3D printing, you'll have to post some pics of the tools and movement holders you have made.

I quite like the look of the Mühle Glashütte 29 ER Day/Date on the metal strap and the chronograph with the white dial.  I do like a red second hand on a watch too.

Many thanks! 😀