Hey guys I'm new to fixing watches. I need some help or advice with fixing my Seiko 4633. I believe the issue lies with the step rotor here's the piece I'm referring to (https://www.ebay.com/itm/162543866751). Whenever I put the battery in, the second hand just barely goes back and forth and I think the root cause is the step rotor "jumping" out of its seat. Taking it apart and putting the battery in I saw that it jumps out about halfway and then barely rotates back and forth. Any advice?

Hi welcome to the forum,   It might just be a piece of dirt in the train or even gummed up oil in either case requires servicing, but before we run that road a few checks.  Put a little drop and I mean a little on the bearings for the train, if it’s sticky oil this will thin it temporarily, if it# dirt put it on a line release tool ( plenty on eBay) and spin the train and hands round. If that’s successful put on a battery and test. If that fails may be the coil or circuit board faulty.  Depending on the watch might be cheaper replacing the movement but that requires some tools and a modicum of skill.

post picture# of the watch movement front and back for further help.

1 hour ago, jojo said:

Hey guys I'm new to fixing watches. I need some help or advice with fixing my Seiko 4633. I believe the issue lies with the step rotor here's the piece I'm referring to (https://www.ebay.com/itm/162543866751). Whenever I put the battery in, the second hand just barely goes back and forth and I think the root cause is the step rotor "jumping" out of its seat. Taking it apart and putting the battery in I saw that it jumps out about halfway and then barely rotates back and forth. Any advice?