Help with opening barrel on an st36

I'm a rookie and have signed up for Mark's course.  I am most of the way through disassembly of the ST36 and it's been going well (lots of pictures 🙂 ) until I got to the barrel.  For the life of me I cannot see an easy way to get the lid off.  Marks video shows him pushing on the bottom (arbor?) on a staking anvil and the lid just sort of tilted.  I can't get that to happen at all.  Does anybody have advice on the best way to do this?

And the next question is should I even attempt this at this point, specifically take the mainspring out by hand and then insert it by hand.  I saw in one forum that inserting by hand has the risk of deforming the spring in some way.  I guess people eventually buy winders but they're pricey and I'd at least like to learn to do it manually.

Edited by linux
add info, fix typo

No matter whether you have the best tool for this or handwinding there is a risk of it all going terribly wrong. At this stage of your education it is probably good to do the hand wind for the experience, you learn what to do and what not to do and the bonus is it doesn’t cost you lots of money.

Tom

• Like 2

Many beginners are tempted to use a tweezer to grip the edge of the barrel and press down on a hard surface. DO DO THAT!

That would end up damaging the teeth of the barrel.

The trick in opening a barrel is to press on the edges of the barrel, without putting any pressure on the lid. It helps if you have thick skin on the tips of your fingers.

Some people use their fingernails to press on the teeth of the barrel. I have also read of people who get a thick piece of perspex and drill a hole to fit the barrel in it. I also saw a video on YouTube recently, where compressed air was used to pop the lid off.