1st disassembly, balance jewel removal

I'm a beginner and have signed up for Mark's course.  I'm about to start disassembling an ST36.  I figure I'll do that several times and make sure it still runs, and will take lots of pictures.  I'm using Mark's lessons on stripping down the movement but early on he shows taking off the balance jewels and incablock parts. 

Do I need to do that?  I thought I read somewhere here that you should not take the balance assembly apart if you're only cleaning.  I actually don't intend to clean at this point, just practice; cleaning later.

Also, am I correct that the balance jewels are the only ones that are removable and that all the others are pressed in?

Thanks in advance.

Any jewel with a shock setting should be removable and should be removed and cleaned as part of a service. The ST36 only has shock jewels on the balance, so for that movement all the others are pressed in and not removed for service, just pegged.

Right now, I'd just keep the balance complete all together and just practice removing it and placing it back. Removing the shock jewels can come later as it is a little intimidating initially. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

As @eccentric59 says, you only need to remove the shock jewels for cleaning.

For a balance with shock jewels, it is usual* to remove the shock jewels (chaton + cap), and leave the balance fixed to the mainplate for cleaning. The design of the shock system means that the pivots are safe from damage. 

* I don't know about his lessons, but I know from his other videos that Mark usually leaves the balance jewels in for cleaning.  

Linux. Been down that road. Best to do everything Nucejoe and eccentric59 says. However if I may offer one piece of assistance. Use Rodico. Place it over the shock jewel spring. Replacements are not available. New movement will be needed. Trying to obtain replacement shock jewel spring is not the thing to have to do. Course is great.

Edited by rossjackson01
Spelling, Grammar