Jumping in with both feet

TLGriff

I'm a life-long machinist who has always had an interest in watch repair, but never had the time to try it. Now that I'm retired, there's still no time, but I've decided to use Grandpa's Elgin pocket watch as my first victim. It hasn't run since I acquired it in 1966, so it'll be no great loss if I'm not succesful. I did manage to find a movement that has a lot of the same parts as mine and have been accumulating the necessary tools and lubricants to get started. The most painful was a set of Bergeron screwdrivers after figuring out that my set of Starrett jewlers screwdrivers were totally inadequate. It looks like I'll need a staking tool as well, because the balance staff only has one pivot.

I'm looking forward to the challenge, and hopefully you guys can help bail me out if I get in too deep.

Tom

8 hours ago, TLGriff said:

Grandpa's Elgin pocket watch as my first victim.

I like the phrase of victim because the first time repairs well hopefully the victim doesn't end up in the morgue which is typically what happens with first-time repairs. Which is why we usually recommend something different to start with.

It be nice to have a picture of the watch because we like pictures on this group.

Thank you all for the warm welcome. I received my set of Bergeron screwdrivers today, so I was able to finish disassembling the movement. There was one large screw that wouldn't budge, so I had to make a screwdriver to fit. It was also a left hand thread, but I managed to get it out without issue. Here is a photo of the progress. It's very dirty, and also seems to be quite magnetic.

20230330_200551.jpg

5 hours ago, JohnR725 said:

yes that is a very good question? 

then I would be curious to know what the serial number of this watch is?

The balance was awol. I have a parts movement with the same balance that I plan on using. The serial number of the watch is 7456893.