Howdy!

Hello 👋

Newish watch repair hobbyist here, programmer by trade.

Decided to wet my beak by starting with Marks first three courses before deciding if this was seriously something I was interested in.

Well, I've finished the courses, purchased tools, and started dismantling my own watches before shopping around.  I picked a Junkers (Miyota 9132) as my first victim, many lessons learned.  Next watch was a vintage Rospin (EB 1332), and now on to a Raketa which feels much more familiar.

Here to share my successes, and failures that eventually turn in to questions and learning.  See ya 'round!

Best, Matt

• Like 2

This is the first post I read on this forum   I read killerfred's intro and that increased my confidence, then scrolling down I read grsnovi's reply and I was promptly bought back to reality.  Flying bits!   I'll intro later, but I am also seeing if this is something I want to continue on with.  Sounds good.  

• Like 1

Welcome Fred. Keep us updated on your progress along this journey.

31 minutes ago, Yande said:

This is the first post I read on this forum   I read killerfred's intro and that increased my confidence, then scrolling down I read grsnovi's reply and I was promptly bought back to reality.  Flying bits!   I'll intro later, but I am also seeing if this is something I want to continue on with.  Sounds good.  

Fear not. There are ways to deal with flying springs—baggies. For me, after 1.5 years, I don’t use baggies any more and never lose anything...takes time, patience, and attention to detail...

• Like 2

10 hours ago, killerfred3000 said:

Hello 👋

Newish watch repair hobbyist here, programmer by trade.

Decided to wet my beak by starting with Marks first three courses before deciding if this was seriously something I was interested in.