Zenith 2552 pc movment cannon pinon slipage.

Hirst

Hello WRT posters.

I'm still relatively new to this hobby so advice from this forum has been valuable.  I've only restored about a dozen vintage watches over about a six month span.  I'm working on this Zenith Auto Sport.  I purchased it knowing it had a issue with the stem pulling out.  I discovered a broken Jumper in the keyless works and replaced it.  I have the movement regulated to less  that 10 sec / day but the hands don't keep time.They do move some, but fall behind rapidly.  I can move the hands in the winding position just with a peg wood and feel no resistance.  I believe the cannon pinon is required to have a slip fit but provide enough friction to drive the hands and in this case the calendar mechanism.  I do have two types of tools for tightening.  How much friction is the correct amount?  How does one judge this? I feel no friction at all when I'm setting the time.  I have two types of pinion adjustment tools.  I have ruined one pinion on another project using the Bergeon pliers,  So I'm a pit hesitant.  I'm thinking I should mike the OD of the center arbor,  then have a mandrel at that dimension to prevent crushing the pinon. I also notice plenty of slop in the hour wheel as it fits around the cannon pinion.  Finally,  is  cannon pinion wear  a common problem with older watch movements?  Great looking and nicely made watches in my opinion!

Thanks

Hirst

IMG_3500.jpg

IMG_3502.jpg

IMG_3503.jpg

IMG_3504.jpg

As its a sweep second cannon pinion it is hollow, I used to put a Broach one the fits tight through the cannon pinon and with a pair of nippers pinch it lightly to tighten, Use that nice bergeon tool that is what I mean by nippers. It is a trial and error, a little each time as you are just starting out, just make sure it is't to tight that it strips teeth off

• Thanks 1

Wow, a nice fancy tool ! 

I've just had to fix a Citizen which had no friction - you could push the hands round.