Offcenter hairspring

mooredan

This is from an Elgin size 12, grade 301, 7j, pocket watch movement.  The movement is a "for parts or repair" type and actually in pretty good shape, I think. Runs, but not reliably. Pulled it apart for a cleaning, while looking for issues -- no biggies found like broken/bent pivots or cracked jewels, but did find this.

Looks off center to me, but I'm not experienced enough to say that its bad, or a culprit.  Should this be corrected (if it is indeed an issue)?  If so, please provide some guidance.

Looking forward to your opinions and advice.

Best regards,

Dan 

IMG_3011-scaled.JPG

I'm referring to the difference in the gap between the collet and the spring at the top and bottom. I think that the spring is actually touching the collet at the top. Normal or not, I do not know.  this photo from the Breguet we site looks more "centered".  If it doesn't matter, or has neglible effect, then probably prudent not to mess with it. 

Screenshot from 2022-01-29 13-06-00.png

12 minutes ago, Plato said:

Looks fine, an overcoil.

As Plato said   an overcoil. whats wrong with the watch. You said it runs but not reliably. What are the issues  There is a difference in the innercoil leading from the collet but whether that would cause problems is a moot point.

Dirty, but not excessively, to begin with.  Ticks away when dial down (amplitude seems weak), but after picking it up and putting it in different positions it'll stop (taking care not to touch the balance).  Only thing that I've found so far is a missing dial washer (that copper looking thing that's under the dial that I've seen on other models I've disassembled), a missing screw on the balance cock's cap jewel, and a missing stud on the pallet cock.

Edited by mooredan

9 minutes ago, mooredan said:

If it doesn't matter, or has neglible effect, then probably prudent not to mess with it