Greetings from Vancouver Canada

Hey everyone,

I am an eye surgeon from Vancouver Canada, and I am completely obsessed with Swiss watches. I started my collection about 10 years ago and currently own about 20 watches, including one classic and one 'vintage' Omega Speedmaster moonwatch, one Breitling Navitimer, one Avenger Bandit, one Panerai Luminor Marina, one VC Malte Tourbillon, one IWC Pilot Chrono Spitfire, and one Tag Heuer Carrera Senna Edition. I have been searching for the right Daytona for quite a while and have been on a waitlist for a Royal Oak for almost 2 years now. After years taking these watches for servicing, I started looking at learning the craft myself. I am used to performing microsurgery so I suspect horology would be right up my alley. 

I am looking at courses and there aren't many options available in Western Canada. I thought I might purchase a watch repair kit from Amazon and take some online courses while working on those older, affordable watches I purchased when I started my collection. I have a few Tissots and Movados that I want to tinker with, and a few Swatches that I could try to disassemble and reassemble. I am very, very excited about learning more about the craft, so any advice is greatly appreciated. 

I look forward to learning from all of you and feel very grateful to join this community. 

Cheers,

Henry

Hi Henry, and welcome. Your career should certainly give you a head-start over most of us hobbyists. I would advise you to buy tools worthy of your collection. In your case, that means Bergeon, Dumont, Horotec etc. from the start, and not budget kits. You are wise to begin with the less valuable items. Plenty of very good advice on here for any situation you will encounter.