Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Quartz Cal 352 - repair advice

Hello all

Got a Jaeger-LeCoultre Master Quartz cal 352 on the cheap off of fleabay as a project.

Couple of questions

1) first thing I noticed is that the battery connecter is broken in half but all parts of it are still in the watch. Is there a way that this can be fixed? Should I try and solder it together?

2) the movement is not running as far as I can tell. Should I try to clean the movement in some naphtha and see if it’ll hold a charge afterwards?

I’m rather new to trying to repair a quartz movement so any advice is appreciated!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Can you post a pic of the movement and broken battery clamp? I don't think you can reliably solder it back together, but you may be able to either find a replacement or adapt one from another early quartz that uses that large of a battery (or even an electric movement). If I'm not mistaken it's a 357 or SR44SW battery. If you can get a battery in and connected, and it at least tries to pulse, then a general cleaning and oiling should get it running. It likely has never been serviced, and the oils will be totally dried out and/or gummed up; also, any sliver of steel (think screwdriver shaving a bit off a screw) will find its way to the rotor and stop it.

• Like 1

Hi  On possibility is to test the module from using a battery out side of the watch and a couple of probes to contact what remains of the negative terminal and the posative (plate of the watch) If you do this over a bench mirror and the circuit block is working the second hand should beat.. I have looked for a tech sheet on this module but so far no luck. To make an external power source is a handy device when working on quartz watches.  There is a ref sheet on Dr Ranfft's web site 

• Like 1