Two New Projects

Two of the watches donated to me by family members are actually working, but I think they need servicing.

One is a small ladies watch, a Certina:

post-1596-0-23381000-1452015866_thumb.jppost-1596-0-01811600-1452015876_thumb.jp

The other is another ladies watch, maybe originally a pocket watch due to the position of the crown. It has a small button at 1 0'clock which activates hands setting. It has a double-hinged case back as well as a hinged front. The adjustment mechanism for the hairspring seems to be way out of position:

post-1596-0-04800500-1452016019_thumb.jppost-1596-0-74998800-1452016027_thumb.jp

post-1596-0-79602200-1452016035_thumb.jppost-1596-0-64936100-1452016043_thumb.jp

post-1596-0-48836400-1452016048_thumb.jppost-1596-0-11616200-1452016058_thumb.jp

post-1596-0-84243700-1452016061_thumb.jp

As I'm a complete novice in the art of servicing watches I ask you:

Is it too ambitious a project?

Are there specific matters I should be aware of (apart from not loosing parts or breaking Incablock-springs...)?

Is the Certina especially difficult because of its size?

Do I need special tools?

I have another more straightforward watch to service first, a lovely little mens watch which I hope to present to you when its finished.

Looking forward to your wise replies.

Pauli

Hi Pauli,

I would start on big movements first but if you feel confident tackling a small ladies one, go ahead! Now that certina doesn't have incabloc protection. As a matter of fact it was probably made before incabloc became main stream. So be careful not to drop it, it is not shock protected! Being that small, pivots among other delicate parts should be special care items...specially when lifting/setting down bridges. Also, being such small size, the proper oil should be an issue. Try to get the service data if possible.

Cheers,

Bob