Modeling

To all,

I'm a career mechanical design engineer, recently retired.

I own a seat of SolidWorks 3D CAD software.  I've been a SolidWorks user since '95.

If anyone needs a solid model created, I'd be more than happy to give it a wail.

I'm a budding watch repairman and would like to give back to this community that has helped me immeasurably thus far.

cheers

• Like 4
  • Thanks 3

Are you still using solidworks or transitioned to a different software since retirement? The license for SW is a lot cheaper than I expected. I am a mechanical engineer, but not worked with CAD for many years (2D AutoCAD) so I have moved to FreeCAD and find it suitable for my needs so far, but probably only scratched the surface of what it can do. I would be interested in your professional opinion before I get too invested in FreeCAD, if there are better options out there. My son gets access to fusion 360 through his school via a student license and it seems like a more polished and user friendly software than FreeCAD, but it requires the purchase of a license and does not work natively in Linux (my normal OS).

Other users also seem to like OpenSCAD especially for parametric designing, was curious if you had any opinion on this also.

5 hours ago, Waggy said:

Are you still using solidworks or transitioned to a different software since retirement? The license for SW is a lot cheaper than I expected. I am a mechanical engineer, but not worked with CAD for many years (2D AutoCAD) so I have moved to FreeCAD and find it suitable for my needs so far, but probably only scratched the surface of what it can do. I would be interested in your professional opinion before I get too invested in FreeCAD, if there are better options out there. My son gets access to fusion 360 through his school via a student license and it seems like a more polished and user friendly software than FreeCAD, but it requires the purchase of a license and does not work natively in Linux (my normal OS).