I'm In Too Deep!!

stealthydan

Hi, sorry to disturb if this is a foolish beginner question, I've tried searching but to no avail. I recently purchased a ring watch from eBay for the grand sum of £2 because my girlfriend liked it.

I'm an aircraft engineer and love all things mechanical,and have always wanted to tackle some timepieces, however this has left me somewhat bemused.

The watch wasn't functioning and upon dismantling it there was a small arm, shown in the picture at the tip of the screwdriver, knocking around inside. I've isolated where all the components need to go to get this thing back together but can't for the life of me work out this arm. I think it's part of the escapement?? The components of which I believe I've isolated in the second picture, but I've tried all sorts of combinations of putting these pieces together and cannot get the rocking arm to spin the gear.

Any advice much appreciated!

b72b546f1a796ef1e9936d9d1d94214d.jpg

5e6f6878445aca3073d1ab69fc142464.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

That looks to be part of the keyless works, which is the winding and setting mechanism of the watch. It is supposed to be catching on the winding crown by means of a notch, so that when you pull out the winding crown it pushes the clutch forward to engage with the setting wheel. I hope I am correct with the names and functions...

• Like 2

Ah ok, thankyou, that makes sense. To be honest I'll have to google the names to familiarise myself with them. I have the nagging suspicion that there's a lot more to this than I first anticipated, and fear this could have ticked its last tock. I'll have a look around and see if there's a logical place for it to fit in on that side of the puzzle.

When I was (more of) a beginner (than I am now) in watch repair, I would use my cell phone camera to take a picture of the watch every time I removed a part. I would keep the removed parts in order in a multi-segmented box. I recommend that.

• Like 3