Hello all

sierra49

I am a frustrated watch repairer. I am an expert at taking things apart, but I have a small problem. I cannot put them back together again ! I am trying to find a balance staff for a leonidas Pocket watch, that my father was given during the war in Burma. It was smashed in a fight with a jap soldier and the glass was broken as well as the balance staff It has a number in the back case 332994 there is an number on the outside : U6228 and the crows foot. The hands had rotted away and the dial is not so good but the numbers are visible except the 12 ,3, and 9 I am fascinated by watches and clocks. At the age of 74 I still have a steady hand but eyesight not brilliant. Well I look forward to some interesting comments and stories. I was a merchant seaman in my youth and then left and Joined the RAF for 9 years. 

• 2 weeks later...

Thank you for accepting me, and I apologise for not replying for some time. I seem to have a problem replying to comments on here. Well thank you for sending me a link for the balance staff. I found three and one was for a chrono so that narrows it to two. I was impressed with the way the new dial face was printed. I have been trying to use a pin to repaint the little bars on the outer second ring, and it is not working. If I can find the paper and get an expert to design a black dial with all the markings ,that would save me a lot of eye strain ! Brilliant video. Well I was not sure if I had the right site when I came on here so I shall spend more time here as it is very informative. I love the way you chaps whip all the components off a watch, clean and oil them and then put them back together again.  I shall keep going and practice and learn. Thanks, Mike.

On 11/9/2023 at 9:31 AM, watchweasol said:

Hello and welcome to the forum.  Pictures of the watch in question would be helpful.  Thanks

20231110_142655.thumb.jpg.71dbfa6a5a4268bfd0f7dd0b488efef0.jpg

20231110_142707.jpg