Hello All!

A333

Hi Everyone,

I looked to the forum for advice and input on starting my watch repair journey and I am now returning with an account to look for support on that journey. 

I am in my early 20's and I work as an applications engineer in industrial hydraulics, but I very much enjoy tinkering.

The community here seems to be very positive, supportive and knowledgeable, so I look forward to being a part of it.

Have been working mainly on cheap, old, automatic movements I have gotten in auctions, but I have been slowly growing my collection of vintage Seiko watches. Still have a fair amount to learn and I am hoping being a part of this community will aide in my growth. Look forward to meeting all the frequenters of the forum 🙂 

(please excuse the messiness of my station currently)

IMG_0956.jpg

Welcome! 👍

Well, no one asked for it, but one principle that I developed early on which has saved me a lot of headache is to always keep the work bench clean of stuff to the left and right of the work mat. So, I keep all the stuff in front of me above the work mat. Also, I only place the watch parts that I'm currently working on, on the mat. So, never any tools, consumables or other parts on the mat.

image.png.a5aeeb1b1303594341dc8dcf99dd2d5a.png

This thing caught my attention. May I ask what it is?

1 hour ago, VWatchie said:

Welcome! 👍

Well, no one asked for it, but one principle that I developed early on which has saved me a lot of headache is to always keep the work bench clean of stuff to the left and right of the work mat. So, I keep all the stuff in front of me above the work mat. Also, I only place the watch parts that I'm currently working on, on the mat. So, never any tools, consumables or other parts on the mat.

Sheet metal forming, perhaps.

Thank you all for the warm welcomes!

On 8/5/2023 at 6:18 AM, Nucejoe said:

Is that big hammer on your bench a tool of watch repair?  I bet you have a Massey ferguson tractor. lol

Welcome here Pal.