Interested in watch collecting and some minor repairs

Hi everyone,

I've been collecting watches since around 2015, but most of these are nothing to speak about with the exception of my late father's 60s Omega (no model on the dial as from new, with a 610 movement). I'm here as I'm looking to learn more and get some advice about a watch needing repair.

I'm based in Scotland.

It's nice to meet you all.

🙂

Hello David and welcome.

You don't say what you would like to do. Get someone to service the watch? To service it yourself? How do you know it's a 610 movement? Have you opened the back? What is your level of competence?

There are many members who have a great deal of experience, far more than me, who will be able to advise. They are world wide, although some of us are in Scotland.

As Richard says. Any chance of photographs?

• 2 weeks later...
On 7/22/2023 at 9:40 PM, RichardHarris123 said:

Hello and welcome from England. 

We love photos on here, let's see your watches. 

Hi Richard,

Thank you, I'll take some photos and share. I'd say the only thing that's noteworthy is the Omega, but also I have a couple of project seikos too which I hope to repair by replacing the movements. :)

On 7/22/2023 at 10:20 PM, oldhippy said:

Thank you for your introduction and welcome to this friendly forum.

We all look forward to your contributions and continued involvement. 

Hi Old hippy, it's good to meet you! I've been interested in watches for a while. I don't have a lot of experience in proper watch repair but hoping to learn more and I have a couple of old seikos I'd like to replace the movements in. The most I've done is replace a movement and circuit board in a tag heuer professional for a friend.

On 7/22/2023 at 10:59 PM, Nucejoe said:

Welcome .

Hello Nucejoe. 🙂

On 7/22/2023 at 11:22 PM, rossjackson01 said:

Hello David and welcome.