Hi from Hants, UK, and help needed please!

Hi, my name's Rob and I'm new to the hobby, and very much enjoying it. I've cleaned and serviced a few Swiss movements so far, but this is the first one that needed a repair. It's a BFG 866 with finger rather than roller, and the hairspring was completely mangled by a previous owner. I bought a replacement '794' part from Cousins, fitted it to the cock (press fit stud), but when the balance wheel is left to rest (pin lever not fitted) the finger is about 180 degrees round from where it should be! Of course it's way out of beat and won't run at all. How has this happened? And can it be corrected without fancy tools?

Thanks for any help, Rob.

Oh, should have added two things: the part I bought was a complete assembly (balance, staff, hairspring and finger) so not something I've put together. Also, weirdly, when I compare old and new, the angle relationship between hairspring collet and finger is identical. So if the stud is 180 degrees out, I think that can only mean the hairspring is half a turn too long/short. Right?

Thank you for your introduction and welcome to this friendly forum.

We all look forward to your contributions and continued involvement. 

Here is a photo of the same movement. It should look like this, see how the complete balance looks. Can you take a photo of yours and post it please, make sure it is nice and clear. We will be able to help you sort it out. 

http://www.ranfft.de/cgi-bin/bidfun-db.cgi?10&ranfft&&2uswk&Baumgartner_866

57 minutes ago, allactionrob said:

So if the stud is 180 degrees out, I think that can only mean the hairspring is half a turn too long/short. Right?