My Wittnauer Diver watch has not been serviced in 40 years

The watch that is my avatar is the one I am talking about.  I am wearing it now and it keeps excellent time.  Note, however, it sat in a drawer for perhaps 30 of those years but I have been wearing it off an on for the last two years.

Pretty sure it was serviced using Elgin M56-B.

My dad would always recommend servicing once per year.  Of course he was motivated to generate business...lol...and I ate a lot of groceries!

I will probably service it this year.  The movement is a C11KAS and I have serviced one before, so it should be straightforward.

• Like 3

On 4/12/2023 at 8:16 AM, LittleWatchShop said:

My dad would always recommend servicing once per year.  Of course he was motivated to generate business.

the one year service interval used to be the recommendation. It's not until you get the modern sealed up cases and synthetic oils tJulie go longer than one year.

2 hours ago, JohnR725 said:

the one year service interval used to be the recommendation. It's not until you get the modern sealed up cases and synthetic oils tJulie go longer than one year.

👍 an example of this was my sisters 21st birthday watch that she gave me to look at that stopped working many years ago. She is now 65, the watch was a tiny Everite that had a large beat error that wouldnt allow it to start up on its own, so an easy fix. It had never been serviced and the oil was still fluid sat in the jewel wells over 40 years after it was manufactured.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, Neverenoughwatches said:

oil was still fluid sat in the jewel wells over 40 years after it was manufactured

40 years it would mean that about 1983. That would be or should have been synthetic oils.  I'm not sure when in the 50s the later 50s probably do you get 9010 and 9020 synthetic oils. Although they still make their organic oils even to this day which of course would limit how long those watches are going to run.

Like for instance in this discussion