ST36 Swan Neck?

So, I'm doing Mark's watch courses and got an ST36(00) from Ebay to work on.  I picked the fancy looking one with Côte de Genève on all the bridges.  What I didn't see at the time (lack of experience) was that it also has a swan neck regulator.  That's great and all, but the problem is that the way it's been implemented means that it's non-functional.

The spring puts no tension at all on the regulator for most of its travel, and the screw is too far from the regulator to do much as well.  I don't know how much more I can turn it, but I already moved it in a little.

My question is, would it be possible to adjust the spring so it actually puts tension on the regulator?  I've never tried to adjust this type of spring before, so I don't know how forgiving it is likely to be.  I think applying heat will probably destroy the temper, but I'm not sure it can be adjusted much without breaking it.  It might also require a longer spring.

Worst case I guess I can just remove it.

I'm interested to know people think I should do in this case and if there's any chance of making it work.

sn1.jpg

sn2.jpg

For what it's worth, I have the same movement and I haven't yet done anything with it. As shown in your photo, mine also has a gap between the screw and the regulator index as well as between the spring and the regulator index.

It's not clear to me why you think the spring needs to be engaged here.

Presumably the balance was set at the factory in a working state. In the event that the watch is running fast or slow you would want to adjust the index left or right to move the index pins along the terminal curve of the hairspring.

3 hours ago, grsnovi said:

It's not clear to me why you think the spring needs to be engaged here.