New hobbyist with lots of questions

Drifter26

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to mechanical watches.  Growing up, I always had Timex digital watches.  They served their purpose and never gave me problems except the occasional dead battery.  As an adult, I've had a couple of nicer quartz watches, but I didn't really know anything about mechanical watches other than the need to wind them every day.  It seemed like too much of a hassle to me at the time.  However, several years ago, I began learning about automatic watches and really appreciated the complexity of these small machines.  I love the idea that they need no batteries, firmware updates, etc.  They just tick away.  I bought an Orient Mako II as my first automatic watch.  It's been a decent watch, but I did have to send it in for service within the first year because it wasn't holding its power reserve.  Since then, it's been running well.  When I was researching new watches, I came across some watch repair videos on YouTube.  I really got hooked.  Within a few weeks, I ordered up all of the necessary tools to get started and bought a Tissot PR100 on eBay for a great price because it was advertised as "non running."  However, it started right up when I wound it, so I figured it wasn't too far gone.  I'm in the disassembly stage with that watch.  So far, I haven't found any obvious problems such as missing or broken pieces with the exception of one dial foot, which was broken off but still captured in the movement.  After a lot of research (and seeing Mark's recent video on the subject), I decided to solder a piece of copper wire to a very thin piece of brass flashing to make a foot pad.  I then used crystal glue to adhere the foot to the dial.  I wasn't confident in my soldering abilities and didn't want to risk damaging the dial face.  The dial now fits onto the movement, but the true test will be when I go to reassemble the watch.  I'm hoping the day/date window won't be misaligned.  While working on this proj