Hiya Everyone

Brucey

Just a quick hello, I'm Andy and I've just got into tinkering with watches as a hobby and if I'm completely honest I wouldn't mind making a few bob in the process.

I currently buy tatty Rado watches and strip them down and generally clean them up. I fell into it completely by accident and have no background in watches whatsoever. I'm a full time Firefighter and fairly recently had a breakdown and with the support of my amazing wife and kids am feeling back on track and happy, I also find this hobby very therapeutic.

I am looking forward to getting to know you all and if anyone else is struggling feel free to talk to me because I have learned that most blokes bottle it up.

Hope that wasn't too heavy!

Thanks, Andy.

Hi Andy!

What was it about Rado watches that got your attention? I'd quite like to have one of those 'Radio Disaster' watches just for fun! :-)

As a matter of interest, do firefighters wear wristwatches on shouts and do they have a 'Firefighters' Favourite'?

Welcome aboard and well done for choosing the best watch forum around.

John

Welcome aboard Andy. As SSTEEL says, this place is full of good guys who all love horology. Be warned, it can be very rewarding, but it can also very frustrating at times. When you need answers, you'll usually find quite a few folk more than willing to pitch in with suggestions.

Thanks everyone, I would of replied sooner however I'm working tonight and with it being bonfire night and working in Manchester!!!