Seiko 7002-7000 Runs Too Fast

todd75

I am new to watch repair. My SEIKO runs too fast. I am aware that it has an adjustment lever, but even at its' max slow (-) increment it is way too fast. We're talking minutes\hr. On the same stem as the +\- lever is another adjustable lever which is probably in the wrong position. Can anyone tell me what this lever is for and where it should be positioned? Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks

I am new to watch repair. My SEIKO runs too fast. I am aware that it has an adjustment lever, but even at its' max slow (-) increment it is way too fast. We're talking minutes\hr. On the same stem as the +\- lever is another adjustable lever which is probably in the wrong position. Can anyone tell me what this lever is for and where it should be positioned? Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks

It could be a number of faults.. A pic might be of some help. Normally it will be hairspring related either magnetised or dirty. Both of them faults cause some of the coils to stick together which makes the watch run to fast.

Hi...Thanks for the info folks....here is a picture of the same movement. Does anyone know the function of the tab\lever on the same mount\post as the adjustment lever? the lever is shown to the right of the adjustment lever and pointing up. It's fatter and it moves as well.  Thanks again.

post-1537-0-67897600-1445906043_thumb.jp

That lever holds the end of the hairspring, and used to adjust the beat. Do not adjust it.

There are many posts on the forum about setting a watch in beat, but you will require a machine called a timegrapher and knowledge to do this.

• Like 1

A really nice close-up picture of the balance wheel and hairspring would be nice. Then background history did the watch suddenly changed to going fast or has it been a gradual thing and when was it last serviced?