Let me start off by saying that I am brand new to watch repair so I don’t yet understand most of the correct terminology. I’ll do my best to describe what I am talking about and I’ll include pictures where possible.  Here’s my issue.  I am repairing a 1982 Chronosport Atlantis 20 ATM Quartz 1127.   I was having trouble with the stem.  When I pulled it all the way out to set the time, the hands and date wheel would always turn together.  It felt very rough as if something was broken.  I completely disassembled the watch and found a loose piece of plastic jammed in the keyless works.  I was able to determine that the piece of plastic was actually a small post that had broken off the plastic frame.  The post had been a pivot point for a lever in the keyless works.  I’m not quite sure what the lever does yet.  It appears that although the post was gone, the lever stayed in place, perhaps rotating on the the small nub that remained.  My question is, can I fix that post.  Is there a technique to glue it back in place?  I understand that the keyless works parts experience significant stress as a result of the movement and function of the stem.  Please see the pictures attached and let me know if you have any ideas. See the circled items in the three pics.  Thanks from Delaware, USA.  

IMG_4657.jpeg

IMG_1741.jpeg

IMG_7239.jpeg

On 3/18/2024 at 6:20 AM, Latetothegame said:

I am repairing a 1982 Chronosport Atlantis 20 ATM Quartz 1127.

one of the confusions for people new to watch repair is what are they working on? Yes you have a description up above but that is not helpful as we need to know who actually made the watch itself. In other words companies purchase movements and put their names on them so we need a picture of the watch movement itself from the backside to identify the watch.

• Like 3