Smiths Enfield won't tick when level

AndytheCrafter

Good day one and all.

I'm new to watch/clock repairs but have the patience and determination to learn new skills as well as being good at fixing things.

I have recently acquired an old Smiths Enfield pendulum with gong clock movement which runs only when tilted at a slight angle.

I stripped it down and rebuilt/oiled it following a video on YouTube from Scotties clock world.

it wasn't running before but does now although only when I tilt it a few degrees to the side, It's currently fitted inside an old Smiths clock case but when mounted square it ticks a few seconds then stops, if I lift one side of the clock case up in this instance the right side when looking at the rear of the movement it ticks and works overnight and I believe at the moment it still is ticking, I'm not at home to check but it was fully wound yesterday when I put it in the case and this morning when I left home for work..

The only adjustments I've made is to the pendulum length by the screw on the shaft.

The attached picture isn't my movement but the same type.

Any suggestions, I guess it could be something simple.

Thanks in advance, Andy

rs-smiths-clock.jpg