Hello All, I was having a problem with the 4th wheel, and finally found a broken jewel under the microscope  ( 62 year old eyes require extra help) . I  emailed Mark about it, his response was  that it’s not that common. I’m relatively new to all of this, at this stage is it worth my investing in a jewelers tool, or should I learn the basics before taking on such a task? It’s the cheap clone that Mark uses in his course.

IMG_0598.jpeg

Well, I can't see a crack, but I will trust your 62 year old eyes against my 56 year old ones. It depends on your financial situation and your plans for the future. Changing a press-fit jewel is relatively straightforward with the correct tools, provided you can measure and then find a replacement of the correct size. It's not an advanced skill, but the gear is expensive and rarely used if you are just beginning to service modern(ish) wristwatches.

I suggest you just buy a replacement movement at this stage. You can always come back to it later. Make notes about the problem (you will forget otherwise!) and put it to one side.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

7 hours ago, Boxerartist said:

Hello All, I was having a problem with the 4th wheel, and finally found a broken jewel under the microscope  ( 62 year old eyes require extra help) . I  emailed Mark about it, his response was  that it’s not that common. I’m relatively new to all of this, at this stage is it worth my investing in a jewelers tool, or should I learn the basics before taking on such a task? It’s the cheap clone that Mark uses in his course.

IMG_0598.jpeg

I also with my 56 year old eyes cant see a crack but it does look quite worn around the edges. As Klassiker has said not a particularly difficult task once you have the correct tools but the investment at this stage maybe too soon. As suggested a donor or replacement movement to supply another mainplate might be a better option.

Screenshot_20230330-073224_Samsung Internet.jpg