First watch service - Are these jewels toast?

kibbler

I slowly and carefully (I'm a newb) disassembled my Waltham 1883 that I got with a broken mainspring.  I took tons of pictures, and I kept all the major parts groups together to avoid issues identifying the proper screws.

I got it all the way down to the base plate, and upon inspecting the jewels, it appears that the 4th wheel jewel (top) is in bad shape, and the 3rd wheel jewel (bottom) has a chip also.  Can someone take a look at my photo and confirm?  I haven't cleaned it much yet, besides trying to scrape the jewels with a sharp toothpick to check if it was just debris.

waltham_broken_jewels.thumb.jpg.d467581eaa421855e6e1e5a2bcbfd776.jpg

I'm really now sure how to proceed from here.  Would the watch potentially run with the jewels in that condition?  What effect would it have?

I wouldn't even know how to start looking to find replacements for the jewels, if they do in fact need replacing.  Could anyone provide guidance?  I did intend on getting a staking set off of eBay, eventually.

Edited by kibbler
specifying which jewel is which

Doesn’t it say on the movement or dial about how many jewels the movement has?

Looks like brass bushings, jewels are normally red or pink in colour. I would like to see the other side of the plate that way I should be able to tell if these just push in or are they part of the plate. Brass doesn’t chip are you sure it’s not wear. Whatever they are work will need to be undertaken (1) by replacing or (2) brass bushing so you will need pocket watch Broaches and some sort of staking tool or even a Jewelling Tool.

You know, I had to look at this a few times, and zoom way in.  I don't know if it's the lighting or if the jewels are clear and uncolored, but it looks like there are pressed-in jewels there.  If those are jewels though, then yes, they're a mess and will need replacement.  Either way, OH is right, work will need to be done there.

• Like 1