Omega Speedmaster Iv, Or 4,5 As Some Say..!

Greetings to you all from the north of sweden!!

Here you have another watch fanatic, and I don't want to miss this opportunity and introduce myself to the forum.

Daniel is the name and I'm not a watchrepair man by trade, just an advanced nerd so far.. :geek: ..!

I've just finished a service on an old front-mounted Cimier military watch with very good results.

My ambition is that one day being able to service my latest addition to the small collection... My "new" Omega

176.0012 Speedmaster IV, or 4,5 as some people call them. This is a 40th year present which I have treated myself with. 

According to the serial, 39xxxxxx, the watch is exactly as old as me, manufactured in the year 1975. This makes

it a really early one. The timepiece is in fantastic condition, original glass with no chips and almost no dents on the  

casing whatsoever. The case is really nice refurbished with the classic sundial pattern and the polished corners and so on. 

I've fitted a new stem with the "real" crown (st 43238) and have also bought the right omega bracelet(1162-172)

for this watch. I'm also very proud to have the original 70s box, very hard to come by in this good condition. The original

insert for the box is missing though, so a pillow will have to suffice for the moment. But as you can see in the pictures,

the original bracelet is only mounted where it sits in the box. The bracelet which I have fitted now is a really nice, thick,

sturdy and heavy bracelet which I found on a website.  I understand why they have a thicker bracelet on the new retromodel

of the mark II. A thicker bracelet really completes the the bulky 70s style casing and really gives the omega a great

prescence on your wrist. As you can see my bracelet also has tapered links and polished sides that lines perfectly with

the style on the case. The purist in me just wishes that it was an original omega bracelet... Anyway, this is me and my new

best friend...