Hello from Argentina

Matore

Hi Everyone!

I'm a mechanics enthusiast (studying engineering, actually), and watches always caught my attention. I came across an Omega 30T2 from my grandfather and managed to replace the balance staff with a second hand stacking set I could lay my hands on. In the process I looked up a few things on the internet and came across the forum, thank you all, it's ticking now!

Cheers

3 hours ago, oldhippy said:

Welcome to this friendly forum. Re-placing a balance staff is not easy. Normally you would be well into your apprenticeship before you under take that task, certainly not with an Omega.  

Well, in this case the OP succeeded as a total beginner in getting, at least, the watch running. Although we can't know how good without a timegrapher picture.  

welcome to a very good watch forum.!  brovo!  on the shaft job and thanks to the net;  you found the modern version od "tech. manuals".  an engeering degree would be good also.  i do not use a "timegrapher [ I junked one,  it had 12 tubes (valves)].   i use a stethosope.    vin

SHello guys! Some updates from a full Omega saturday afternoon. I started checking the regulator pins as I asked in the other post. In the second attempt I got them where I think is better, the coil bounces but with little clearence. Then I started timing it. No timegrapher so I had to improvise: I tried an stethoscope Vin, but the one I had (asked my mother actually) didn't pick it up.