New ETA 955.412 movement not functioning

Hi all,

I have a brand new ETA 955.412 movement replacing another with stem damage. With the following steps:

• Place minute/hour wheel.
  • Place front plate and secure.
  • Place hands (pressed on easily).
  • Inserted new battery.
  • Ensured crown is pushed fully home.

Trouble is, it doesn't function at all. My first thought is I messed it up somehow! Whilst I'm no watchmaker, my day job is engineer so I'd like to figure it out (if the movement was not bust from purchase).

What I've checked is:

• Changing time with crown works perfectly.
  • Date changing functions perfectly.
  • New battery (voltage 1.58V) measured at chip.
  • Coil measures 1.5k ohm.
  • Current draw of around ~2uA.

I'd be grateful for any advice!

Thanks.

Do you have a quartz watch tester? This will tell you if the electronics is producing a pulse.
Failing a tester an oscilloscope will do that too.
Then is the rotor turning? If you demagnetise a quartz movement, everything works except the rotor is no longer turned by the coil.
The movement may look perfect, even still in ETA packaging, but it may have been demagnetised intentionally or accidentally.
Hope this helps
Cheers Neil

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

All I know is that these 955s -just like most quartz movements- are quite unpredictable.

For one of these watches, I polished case, repaired bracelet ("watchmaker" said bring it to Tissot, LoL) and replaced battery for my sister in law. After few days it came back dead and had to replace move.t.

Mmm...
In my experience the 955 is one of the more reliable quartz movements. But it's been around for a while and age does a quartz no good.
The mechanics need servicing just like a clockwork watch and damp

Mmm...
In my experience the 955 is one of the more reliable quartz movements. But it's been around for a while and age does a quartz no good.
The mechanics need servicing just like a clockwork watch and damp does in the electrics.