Question

HI EVERYONE ...I had a Seiko5 SNZG15K1 ...I started playing around with the regulator and bought a timegraph 1000 ... anyways as I was moving the beat lever the hairspring stopped . I removed the spring , wheel and cock and the spring was a mess. I just want to know do these watches come ready to regulate or do you have to turn the brass stay bits on the end that hold the spring ..I think that the spring jumped on mine .but at the time I wasn't thinking straight and ran to disassemble it when I should of looked a bit closer back then ..Thanks Lenny...........

19 answers to this question

You're not the chap who's selling a timegrapher together with a SNZG15 in Beckenham are you?

All you need to do is check out the photo attached. Start small, buy a couple of cheap used seiko 5's, de-case them, swap the dials and hands and see how you go.   

7s26a regulating.jpg

27 minutes ago, Lenny said:

anyways as I was moving the beat lever the hairspring stopped . I removed the spring , wheel and cock and the spring was a mess.

Seiko hairspring are very (insert "very: 5 more times here) delicate. If it is still within repair your best chance is to bring it to a watchmaker to be corrected, otherwise a new balance complete will be needed (out of stock at Cousins at this time). I understand that you are serious having even bought an expensive tool (actually a smartphone app would have been pretty much OK), but to be honest with you I strongly recommend that you practice first with junk movements before moving to the watches that you want to wear or have any value.

• Like 3

I know what I got to do , order a new hairspring balance and try and install it to the cock ... I got to buy an electron microscope now ....Yea I'm the guy in Beckenham ...if I don't sell it quick im gonna have a go ..