Vostok 2809, pallet stone vs. banking pin

Hello all, total noob here with a nice microscope and inexpensive movement.  After getting all cocky regulating a couple of Seiko's and breaking at least one balance spring I put a Russian Vostok I bought on Ebay for $125 or something on the timer and the results were nuts.  It's like every minute the timing would change radically. To make a long story short, the watch needed complete cleaning but also the shellac on the pallet fork had disintegrated, leaving a loose jewel. 

I'm at the point right now where I am trying to meet the correct draw depth of the jewels.  Just to make you laugh, I originally had swapped the entry and exit jewels.  Fortunately a close read through Henry Fried's The Watch Repairer's Manual set me straight.  OK, so the entry jewel is spot on.  Max draw is 1/3rd of the width of the pallet jewel.  The problem I have is the exit jewel.  Even fully pushed into the fork it's still too deep into the escape wheel when it's engaged, about half the width of the pallet jewel.  Moving the fork back and forth without the balance wheel inserted it seems to clear. 

PS - I'm using a microscope with a ruler in one of the eye sights, so that's how I'm measuring everything.

I understand I could fix this by adjusting the banking pins but in this watch they are fixed, there's no screw to turn, but they could be bent.  Looking at the pallet fork from a second Vostok 2809 it seems like the pallet stone is the same length.  

My question for you fine folk is, is my next step the banking pin adjustment, or in the case of this movement do I leave it well enough alone? 

From Fried's book, I guess I could also shorten the pallet jewel.... but that's yet another rabbit hole I'm not ready for. 😁

Thank you!

Erik

Edited by NigelTufnel
Clarifications, misspellings

26 minutes ago, NigelTufnel said: