Submariner Crown and Stem Problem

Hello all.  I have had, and wear pretty regularly, a Rolex Submariner for the past 20+ years.  I got the watch used so I'm not certain as to it's actual age, but it was in very good condition and has always worked well.  The other day, while attempting to adjust the time, I pulled on the crown (as I always have done) and the crown and stem pulled out of the watch.  As if this wasn't bad enough, I then noticed that, despite the second hand continuing to sweep, the minute hand wasn't advancing.

Being a mechanical engineer, my first thought was to attempt to fix this myself.  However, being that I'm a complete novice at watch repair, I felt it best to ask if those in the know believe this is something that can be done by a layman (albeit one who has interest and enjoys working with their hands)?

This involves  hands, dial plate, date disk removal to gain access to the keyless and while there to check the minute train as well.

The least would be keyless has misaligned, and what caused it, and likely to need a part replaced with new.

This is a fine jewel, best to entrust it in experienced hands.

Rgds

• Like 3

Well that's a bummer!  I was kind of hoping that I could get my feet wet with this one, but it does sound more complicated than I expected.

I'm in the United States and over an hour away from the nearest town (which won't have someone who can work on this).  Can anyone recommend someone to work on this for me?  I understand that they have a full service network, but it's rather costly so I would be willing to use a reputable independent person/place.