Seiko Perpetual Calendar--Perplexing Irregularity

I hope you can help me with this problem. I built a Seiko Perpetual Calendar watch by using hands from one watch, mechanism from another, a case from a third--you get the idea. For about two months it worked PERFECTLY. Now, it is, shall I say, imperfectly imperfect. When I set the watch and then look at it, say, four hours later, I find that it is 5 - 10 minutes fast. But at the end of 24 hours, it is still only 5 - 10 minutes fast. Other times, it might be similarly slow.

If this were a mechanical watch, I'd know where to look for the diagnosis, but this is a quartz watch. If the problem were always that it runs slow, I'd look for hands crossing or dragging. But that won't explain it running fast.

I don't even know where to start on this problem. I am a self-taught hobbyist in watch repair, learning from my (many, alas) mistakes as I go along. But I'm COMPLETELY stumped on this. I don't even know what mistake to make!

Any ideas?

Could be play in the gears...?

Not too familiar in this movement but in a mech watch when setting the time the wheels work off the stem but under normal running conditions the minute hand runs off the cannon pinion.

Try moving the hands slightly ahead of the actual time and then moving it backwards to get the time you want. If you over'back' the hands set it forwards and try backing it again.

If the above works then you've got too much free play somewhere... either worn teeth or a worn post/pivot.

I repeat I'm not too familiar with quartz watches so your problem maybe something else altogether!

Anil

Are you able to test it on a quartz movement analyzer? 

Am I safe to presume you've already serviced the mechanical side of this movement?  If you haven't, I'd start with that first ... then if the problem persists it's the circuit that will need to be replaced.