Beginner Help Please

I’m a complete beginner and would very much welcome any help and guidance with my early attempts.

I’ve bought two "spares or repairs" watches to experiment on. One is branded "LEWA" which I assume is a generic brand name and has what looks like a fairly basic mass produced movement (not jeweled). The other one is branded "KANDER Marines"; the automatic movement is marked "BREVETS". With 25 jewels it seems to be a much better quality movement than one in the LEWA. Amazingly both run and keep reasonable time.

Starting with the "LEWA", the stop/start buttons are a bit of a puzzle because they don’t touch the mechanism. The stop/start function does work so unless someone can suggest a better alternative I’ll solder a small piece of brass on the inside ends of the buttons. The plan is to start with this one, take it apart, give the movement a through clean and try(!!) to put it all back together.

As for the KANDAR, someone has taken the "Marines" part too literally and water has got into the case causing a bit of (hopefully) surface staining on some of the parts and is probably why the calendar isn't working. There's also a bit of staining on the dial. There was no ‘O’ ring under the back cover which no doubt explains the problem. Otherwise the case and bracelet are in good condition. This is clearly a more complicated job so I’ll leave this one until I’ve done the "LEWA". It looks like the crown & stem will need to be removed before the movement can be lifted out of the case. Do I need to remove the crystal to do this? If so how do I do this?

I have some basic tools on order, one of which is a crystal lifter.

Many thanks in anticipation.

Joe

P1030502.JPG

P1030520.JPG

P1030522.JPG

P1030523.JPG

Hello Botley,